Home News Quentin Tarantino's The Hateful Eight Cast Revealed

Quentin Tarantino's The Hateful Eight Cast Revealed



The cast for Tarantino’s upcoming post-Civil War western has been revealed, and it is quite the ensemble indeed! We have Samuel L. Jackson, Kurt Russel, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Walton Goggins, Demian Bechir, Tim Roth, Michael Madsen and Bruce Dern as the illustrious Eight of the film’s title, while Channing Tatum has also been announced for an as yet undisclosed role, according to comingsoon.net.
Speaking on the casting choices, Bob and Harvey Weinstein commented, “We couldn’t be any more thrilled with the fantastic group of performers we’ve assembled for ‘The Hateful Eight’ – some perennial fixtures in his movies and some newcomers – and can’t wait to kick off the shoot in Telluride.”
The synopsis of The Hateful Eight is as follows: “Set six or eight or twelve years after the Civil War, a stagecoach hurtles through the wintry Wyoming landscape. The passengers, bounty hunter John Ruth (Russell) and his fugitive Daisy Domergue (Leigh), race towards the town of Red Rock where Ruth, known in these parts as “The Hangman,” will bring Domergue to justice. Along the road, they encounter two strangers: Major Marquis Warren (Jackson), a black former union soldier turned infamous bounty hunter, and Chris Mannix (Goggins), a southern renegade who claims to be the town’s new Sheriff. Losing their lead on the blizzard, Ruth, Domergue, Warren and Mannix seek refuge at Minnie’s Haberdashery, a stagecoach stopover on a mountain pass. When they arrive at Minnie’s, they are greeted not by the proprietor but by four unfamiliar faces. Bob (Bichir), who’s taking care of Minnie’s while she’s visiting her mother, is holed up with Oswaldo Mobray (Roth), the hangman of Red Rock, cow-puncher Joe Gage (Madsen), and Confederate General Sanford Smithers (Dern). As the storm overtakes the mountainside stopover, our eight travelers come to learn they may not make it to Red Rock after all…